My Wonderful, Thoughtful, Lovely Readers…

It’s been awhile since I’ve added a post but I’ve been keeping busy behind the scenes corresponding with readers that have emailed me since Leverage has been published.  I love the reader comments and I love the well thought out critiques.  Some of the readers have admitted that they have, in some instances, experienced traumatic attacks in their own lives and they felt they understood how the victims in this story would stay quiet for so long for fear of greater consequences.  It means so much to me (as I’m sure it does to any writer) to know that the years I’ve put into cobbling together a story actually had an impact on another human.  It’s a great, great feeling.  But it also makes my heart break when I hear some of the secrets that readers have shared with me, of the abuse they have suffered.  Those of you who have written to me, I am so, so honored that you would choose to share what has to be extremely painful memories.  I am honored and worried about you, worried that you are taking proper care of yourselves and getting the help you need.  Please know that things do get better.   The human animal is strong and built for survival, built to adapt.  I am rooting for you.  I am pulling for you.  I know how hard it can feel, how tough it may seem, that no one out there understands.  But the world is filled with billions of beating hearts and everyone bleeds the same color.  People more often than not want to help. 

You readers that have shared your secrets with me, you know you are and I’m in your corner, rooting for you. 

One Love,

Josh

 

About joshuacohenbooks

Author of the recently published novel LEVERAGE. Trying to get it out there and get feedback and also discuss topics around writing, publishing, sports, education, bullying and whatever else interests him.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

